David Bowie
Hallenstadion, Zurich, Switzerland
April - 17 - 1976

Matrix of 2 different audience recordings from the same show uploaded by steve23yh to mwp as part of HG 29.

Here is the original text by steve23yh:


Audience recording
TDK SA90 x 2 > TEAC tape deck > Zoom H2N digital recorder at 96/24 bit SDHD card > computer > DVD data disc > iZotope RX2 denoiser tool for hiss removal > Goldwave for track splits etc > FLAC 4
Number of discs: 4
Artwork: included
Total running time: Disc 1: 49:01; Disc 2: 41:17; Disc 3: 43:44; Disc 4: 46:37


Version 1

Disc 1

1. Station To Station
2. Suffragette City
3. Fame
4. Word On A Wing
5. Stay
6. Waiting For The Man
7. Queen Bitch
8. Life On Mars?
9. Five Years

Disc 2

1. Panic In Detroit
2. band introductions
3. Changes
4. TVC 15
5. Diamond Dogs
6. Rebel Rebel
7. The Jean Genie

Version 2

Disc 3

1. introduction
2. Station To Station
3. Suffragette City
4. Fame
5. Word On A Wing
6. Stay
7. Waiting For The Man
8. Queen Bitch

Disc 4

1. Panic In Detroit
2. band introductions
3. Changes
4. TVC 15
5. Diamond Dogs
6. Rebel Rebel
7. The Jean Genie


Version 1

Running a little fast, speed correction with a factor of 96%.
Legacy tape flip between Life On Mars? and Five Years - seamless.
Abrupt join between Five Years and Panic In Detroit - used for disc split.
A piece of Dennis's drum solo is missing (5:16) - joined with fades.

Version 2

Abrupt join at 1:33 in the introduction - smoothed with fade-out.
Minor speed correction, with a factor of 98%.
Chunk of Queen Bitch is missing - joined with fades (2:36).
Life On Mars? and Five Years both missing from source tape.
Volume reprofiling required on right channel for Rebel Rebel and The Jean Genie.

Sector boundary errors tidied with TLH.

Torrent History:

Originally seeded to MWP by steve23yh as part of The Hunky Geordie Tapes, Vol 29 on 10th December 2014


Flac files of 2 recordings -> transfer to Magix Music Cleaning Lab -> arrangement of matrix (remaster/edit) -> FLAC (44,1 kHz, 16 Bit, Stereo) -> MWP

Both recordings were incomplete as both had several cuts and have quite distinctive differences in sound. As a result of the matrix
the sound is very balanced between frequencies.
To adapt the single bits from either one or the other tape to the overall sound some EQ was necessary. Also I lifted the bass and treble of the combination a bit.

As always the biggest challenge was the differences in speed of both tapes. As usual with such old recordings (and gens) the speed was inconsistent within each track.
So it took quite a while to fix this. I was orientating the speed towards version 2.
Version 1 has some problems with higher levels in sound and so also the matrix is suffering from this a bit.
The concert as such for me sounds very committed. David is in very good mood and after the band introduction he states: "...you are the audience ...and I am David Bowie"
MossGarden has again made some very nice artwork using a photo of Bowie from the trip he went on from Z├╝rich to Moscow the day after the concert which you can find attached here.


disc 1 (length 51:15 min):

100 - introduction
101 - Station To Station
102 - Suffragette City
103 - Fame
104 - Word On A Wing
105 - Stay
106 - Waiting For The Man
107 - Queen Bitch
108 - Life On Mars?
109 - Five Years

disc 2 (length 46:54 min):

201 - Panic In Detroit
202 - band introductions
203 - Changes
204 - TVC 15
205 - Diamond Dogs
206 - Rebel Rebel
207 - The Jean Genie

Support the artists, go to their shows, buy their albums.
Do not convert to lossy files, unless for personal use. Don't ever sell!

Tour band Isolar 1976:

David Bowie - vocals, saxophone
Stacey Heydon - lead guitar
Carlos Alomar - rhythm guitar
George Murray - bass guitar
Dennis Davis - drums
Tony Kaye - keyboards, synthesizers

Uploaded to MWP by learm 2014/12/21