1981 11 17

~~ complete FM version, no AUD patches ~~

Edited version, includes all FM sources material known so far to circulate.
Many cuts and skips about every 15-17 mins throughout this recording,
'professionally' edited for this FM broadcast,
details per track, see setlist.

Main body: 1981 11 17 The Ritz, New York, NY FM 1ST (RobSam Doctorzap)
(Shoebox upload: http://www.zappateers.com/bb/viewtopic.php?t=21900)

Fills included from 2 alternate FM versions (for FM source parts missing in this robsam copy),
no AUD fills included here.

With Al DiMeola on guitar (*) and Brian Peters on vocals (**). The FM recording lacks the first song, and has some other cuts.

Treacherous Cretins, Montana, Easy Meat, You Are What You Is, Mudd Clubb, The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing, Dumb All Over, Heavenly Bank Account, Suicide Chump, Jumbo Go Away, Envelopes, Drowning Witch [parts on SATLTSADW], What's New In Baltimore?, Moggio, Bamboozled By Love, Sinister Footwear, Stevie's Spanking [parts as basic track on TOU], Cocaine Decisions, Nig Biz, Doreen, Goblin Girl, The Black Page (q: Smoke On The Water), Tryin' To Grow A Chin, Strictly Genteel, Clowns On Velvet* [parts as basic track on TF], Ride Like The Wind*/**, Zoot Allures [parts on Truck Driver Divorce, TOU], This Is My Story, Whipping Post, Watermelon In Easter Hay

This version: 152.18 min, FM 1st, A

Main body (robsam-doctorzap 1st gen FM)
(Shoebox upload: http://www.zappateers.com/bb/viewtopic.php?t=21900)

Lineage: Maxell MA-90 1st gen > Nakamichi DR-1 > Realtek HDAudio pentium i7 > Soundforge 10 Pro Highest quality setting Izotope 64 bit src downsampling / MBIT+dither> TLH > flac (Shoebox) >
Soundforge 9: speed correction, tracking, patching in fills > flac TLH lvl8 w/SBA (1.05 GB)

taped by: Ken Feldman
contributed by: robsam
transferred by: doctorzap
edited by: flambay


FM 1 (tubro2-clyde200 etc. FM, A) - for Track 13
full FZ Shows seed by teasea: http://www.zappateers.com/bb/viewtopic.php?t=3113
Master Cassette recorded from WLIR >NAK BX-300>WAV (SB Audigy)>CD-R>EAC>Flac
Front end> Make Torrent > Soundforge 9: speed correction, extract patches, merge with main source

taped & transferred by: ??
contributed by: tubro2, clyde200, teasea a.o.
edited (patches): flambay

FM 2 (fzmoi69-doctorzap FM MC, DR-1 rip, A/A-) - for Tracks 21,31
Shoebox seed (DR-1): http://www.zappateers.com/bb/viewtopic.php?t=21291

Lineage : MASTER TAPE > Nakamichi DR-1 > Realtek HDAudio pentium i7 > Soundforge 10 Pro Highest quality setting Izotope 64 bit src downsampling / MBIT+dither> TLH >
Soundforge 9: extract patches, speed correction, merge with main source

Recorded by Steve H./fzmoi69
Transferred by Raymond Morelli JR/doctorzap
Edited by: flambay

Frank Zappa's Band, September 1981 - July 1982:
FZ, Steve Vai, Ray White, Scott Thunes, Chad Wackerman,
Ed Mann, Tommy Mars, Bobby Martin.
With Al DiMeola* on guitar (on #27,28) and Brian Peters** on vocals (on #28)


01 Emcee Intro, crowd noise °°° only available from AUD source, not included here

02 Treacherous Cretins [1:18] °°° cuts in after FZ solo, start missing
03 Montana [3:45]
04 Easy Meat [8:55] °°° flaws/distortion at 7:45, common to all FM source versions
05 You Are What You Is (FM edit #1) [2:33] °°° cut/edit at 0:48,330
06 Mudd Club [2:45]
07 The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing [3:08]
08 Dumb All Over [6:43]
09 Heavenly Bank Account (FM edit #2) [2:31] °°° cut/edit at 1:17,525
10 Suicide Chump [5:41]
11 Jumbo Go Away [3:40]
12 Envelopes [3:10]
13 Drowning Witch [parts on SATLTSADW] (FM edit #3) [10:20] °°° cut/edit at 1:55,875 °°° FM 1 source patches {2:26-2:31} and {7:16-7:39}
14 What's New In Baltimore? [6:08]
15 Moggio (FM edit #4) [1:12] °°° cut/edit at 1:08,996
16 Bamboozled By Love [5:31] °°° cuts off at end
17 Sinister Footwear (FM edit #5) [10:06] °°° applause mixed in at start, edit at end, cuts into next track
18 Stevie's Spanking [parts as basic track on TOU] (FM edit #5) [8:02] °°° cuts in, start missing
19 Cocaine Decisions [3:37]
20 Nig Biz [4:59]
21 Doreen (FM edit #6) [1:59] °°° cut/edit at 00:22,741 °°° FM 2 source patch {1:32-1:39}
22 Goblin Girl [2:23]
23 Black Page #2 (q: Smoke On The Water) [10:19]
24 Tryin' To Grow A Chin (FM edit #7) [2:23] °°° edit at end, cuts into next track
25 Strictly Genteel (FM edit #7) [7:17] °°° cuts in, start missing
26 Clowns On Velvet* [parts as basic track on TF] [7:07]
27 Ride Like The Wind*/** [5:46]
28 Zoot Allures [parts on Truck Driver Divorce, TOU] [11:12]
29 This Is My Story (FM edit #8) [2:09] °°° cut/edit at 1:05,517
30 Whipping Post [6:33]
31 Watermelon In Easter Hay [5:34] °°° FM 2 source patch {5:27-end}

Total time (FM source, patched) 152.18 min

Note: The applause after the cut between 16 Bamboozled and 17 Sinister
which is audible in all FM versions seems to have been edited into the Pre FM build reel
(along with all the other edit skips known from this FM source).
In all AUD sources we can hear that Bamboozled segues right into Sinister,
with no applause or further interruption between these tracks.

Thanks to all involved who helped out with their various contributions of this show.
The tapers of all AUD & FM sources: Ken Feldman, fzmoi69 & all other unknown tapers,
to all contributors, transferrers, editors and seeders of the previously seeded versions (FZ Shows & Shoebox)
fzmoi69, doctorzap, tubro2, Clyde200, teasea and others ...

This version (main body) brought to you by robsam, doctorzap & flambay

Enjoy !!

www.zappateers.com/bb - September 2011