John Lee Hooker featuring Ry Cooder, Carlos Santana, Albert Collins and Robert Ward (16/44 FLAC version)
Village Music 23rd Anniversary Party
August 5, 1991
Mill Valley, California, USA

Careful research revealed no released material. There is some live "John Lee Hooker and Friends" that was recorded at Sweetwater, but it was recorded the following year (apparently June 1, 1992). This John Lee Hooker set would NEVER be officially released because the stage lighting (or lack of it) was not done with video in mind. All of the other sets have good stage lighting but not this one. The BBC also did a documentary on The Sweetwater that included John Lee Hooker, but it's not from this show either.

Anyway, now that we got that out of the way, on to the rest of the info:

Village Music was a little record store in Mill Valley California and its owner, John Goddard, threw quite a few very interesting anniversary parties at the tiny nearby club, The Sweetwater. This is from one of those parties. Excellent quality from soundboard Dat master.

John Lee Hooker and Ry Cooder duet:
01 [01:57] intro
02 [05:19] Same Old Blues Again
03 [01:40] talk
04 [03:26] I'm Bad Like Jesse James
05 [01:20] talk
06 [06:07] Hobo Blues
07 [01:47] talk

John Lee Hooker, Ry Cooder and backing band:
08 [05:45] unknown title (with Carlos Santana, Jim Guyette and Bowen Brown)
09 [00:47] talk
10 [16:54] unknown titled Boogie (with Carlos Santana, Albert Collins, Robert Ward, Austin deLone, Jim Guyette and Bowen Brown)
11 [01:09] announcer (Austin deLone) and applause
total: 46:11

John Lee Hooker's is accompanied by just Ry Cooder on slide guitar except for the last 2 songs which also have:
Jim Guyette - bass
Bowen Brown - drums
plus the other guest guitarists (and also Austin deLone on keyboards on the last song)

Lineage: Soundboard Dat master (Maxell R-120DM) > unknown deck.

Transfer (2012-04): Panasonic SV-3700 (digital output) > Macintosh with Digidesign Audiomedia III card > Pro Tools (minor "nip and tuck" edits, normalization, tracking and down-sampling - no equalization or DNR) > AIFF > xACT (level 8 files with sector boundaries verified).

Notes: The video of this set is being posted with other artists from this show in both DVD-5 and DVD-9 formats. I decided to post the audio sets individually to allow those with space or share ratio issues to try the audio before going for the entire video package. I do recommend all of the sets from this night - besides this one there are sections with Nicky Hopkins plus Jimmy McCracklin and Robert Ward with Ry Cooder (and also Lee Allen as audio only.)

Enjoy and SHARE!