Prince - 1989-02-07 - "Nagoya '89" (SAB) - Rainbow Hall, Nagoya, JP - Lovesexy World Tour - SBD

"Is the party over here?"

To Prince and to celebrating his Years of now 57 Different Varieties...

Happy Birthday To You, Like You Know How To Housequake Party All Night Alright Across The Lines, Like It's 1999 Already!


2 CD
Label : Sabotage Records
Catalogue : #SAB 208-209
Disc Length : 54:24 / 59:43
Source : Soundboard Recording
Sound Quality : EX+
Year Of Release : 2003
Artwork included: Yes

Known lineage: Files in same form as received kindly c/o plumbdusty.

FLAC Frontend tested files : all OK + Trader's Little Helper checked audio files for SBEs : no errors found, 2015-06-07, mikedreams.

Ample full-song audio-samples in comments down below pour vous de moi biensur.


Lovesexy Tour
Rainbow Hall, Nagoya, JP
7th February 1989

Band : Prince (vox, guitar, piano), Sheila E. (drums, vox), Levi Seacer, Jr. (bass, vox), Miko Weaver (guitar, vox), Dr. Fink (keyboards), Boni Boyer (keyboards, vox), Eric Leeds (saxophone, flute), Atlanta Bliss (trumpet), Cat (dance, vox)

Disc 1

01. Erotic City (intro) 02. Housequake (including Take The A-Train) 03. Slow Love 04. Adore 05. Delirious 06. Jack U Off 07. Sister 08. Do Me, Baby 09. Adore 10. I Wanna Be Your Lover (intro) 11. Head (including Murph Drag) 12. Girls And Boys 13. A Love Bizarre 14. When You Were Mine 15. Little Red Corvette 16. Controversy 17. U Got The Look 18. Superfunkycalifragisexy 19.Controversy 20. Bob George 21. Anna Stesia 22. Cross The Line

Disc 2

01. Interlude 02. Eye No 03. Lovesexy 04. Glam Slam 05. The Cross 06. I Wish U Heaven 07. Kiss 08. Dance On 09. Sheila E Drum Solo (including Transmississippirap) [start piano set] 10. It Is No Secret What God Can Do - When 2 R In Love 11. Venus De Milo 12. Starfish And Coffee 13. Raspberry Beret 14. Strange Relationship 15. Chopsticks - With You - Under The Cherry Moon - Condition Of The Heart 16. International Lover [end piano set] 17. When 2 R In Love 18. Let's Go Crazy 19. When Doves Cry 20. Purple Rain 21. 1999

More Info:
- Songs Additional Songs Remarks / Personnel
- 1.02 Housequake It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night incl. Escape intro & Take The A-Train interpolation
- 1.06 Jack U Off Twelve
- 1.13 A Love Bizarre Sheila E. co-lead vox
- 1.17 U Got The Look Dirty Mind bridge to a passing Batman Theme
- 2.06 I Wish U Heaven Sheila E. lead vox
- 2.17 When 2 R In Love incl. Three interpolation
- 2.19 When Doves Cry incl. La, La, La, He, He, Hee interpolation


One of Sabotage's finest releases, and one of the clearest soundboard recordings in circulation. This is one of three Japanese soundboards from the Lovesexy tour widely circulating (not including the Osaka soundcheck) and all 3 are of amazing clarity. The audience level throughout is barely audible, which at times makes these shows sound more like rehearsals than the full-blown extravaganza they were. The Japanese Lovesexy shows also lack the passion, religious tone and major enthusiasm of the European and US leg of the tour in 88. This is still an extraordinarily good concert, but it the performance doesn't convince me Prince is high on the message of Lovesexy anymore. The show itself contains numerous changes from the previous 88 tour. The most obvious being the opening 'Erotic City' has been omitted, 'I Wanna Be Your Lover' contains the intro only, 'Head' is reduced to a single verse, 'Blues In C' has been completely dropped, as has the 'Take This Beat / God Is Alive' portion following 'I Wish U Heaven' (which the girls in the band sing). This particular show thankfully contains the piano medley and is proceeded by Prince singing the melody (without lyrics) to 'It Is No Secret What God Can Do'. The piano segment features the brief portion of 'Chopsticks' and 'With You' (both of which Sabotage have bafflingly not listed on the artwork). The accompanying booklet and artwork is stunning and certainly one of Sabotage's best efforts - albeit with some tracks missing on the back cover.