Enjoy this superb recording of a magnificent performance. The audience was respectful and participated when invited. Some of the talk segments consist of rants of five or more minutes. Some of the songs contain talk segments also. I'd forgotten how brilliant Billy Bragg's performances are. The pleasure is greatest if your politics lie at least slightly left of center, of course, but everyone will throughly appreciate this.

Faults: Virtually none. About as fine a recording as can be made from the audience with concealed mics.

Montreal, QC -- Club Soda
1996-10-24 -- 121:29

01. -talk-
02. The World Turned Upside Down
03. -talk-
04. St. Swithin's Day
05. -talk-
06. She's Got a New Spell
07. -talk-
08. From Red to Blue
09. Cindy of a Thousand Lives
10. -talk-
11. Accident Waiting to Happen
12. -talk-
13. A Pict Song
14. Levi Stubbs' Tears
15. -talk-
16. The Space Race Is Over
17. Greetings to the New Brunette
18. -talk-
19. The Saturday Boy
20. -talk-
21. Brickbat
22. -talk-
23. Upfield
24. Sexuality
25. -talk, encore applause-
26. The Times They Are A-Changin'
27. -talk-
28. Sugardaddy
29. -talk-
30. Waiting for the Great Leap Forwards
31. -talk, encore applause-
32. -talk-
33. There Is Power in a Union
34. Ontario, Quebec and Me
35. -talk
36. A New England
37. -talk, applause-

t36: revised (parenthood) lyrics
Billy Bragg - songwriter, except
t13: lyrics by Rudyard Kipling
t26: by Bob Dylan

Billy Bragg - vocals, electric guitar

No artwork.

Recorded by stevemtl: Sennheiser MKE2002 > Denon DTR80P (DAT: 16 bit, 48 khz)
Transferred by stevemtl: DATs > Sony R500 > Roland R44 (16/48) > SD chip > HD
Mastered by stevemtl: HD > Soundforge (L2 dither > 24/48: L2 level adjust, trim, edit, fades; anti-alias filter and downsample > 24/44.1); L2 dither > 16/44.1 > CDwave (track cut) > TLH (flac level 8, ffp, md5) > TLH (torrent marker)
Circulated by stevemtl: torrent marker uploaded to DIME on 2020-01-01
Support Billy Bragg by purchasing official releases and merchandise and attending gigs.
Please pass on in a lossless format only; reserve mp3 and other degrades for your own use.
Do not profit in any material way from this recording.