Buddy Guy & Junior Wells Blues Band
The Catalyst
Santa Cruz, CA
September 6, 1985

Lineage: Sony autoreverse cassette deck ("high-end model") > Maxell MX90 cassette masters (Dolby C encoded). Transfer: Nakamichi Dragon (Dolby C decoded) > Macintosh with Digidesign Digi01 audio interface > Pro Tools (minor "nip and tuck" edits, normalization and tracking) > AIFF > xACT (Flac level 8 files with sector boundaries verified).

Soundboard cassette master - stereo but not a "perfect mix" with the vocals low on some of it compared with the very hot-sounding guitar, bass and drums. Still very decent sounding overall. It's VERY long because of the standard blues band format of having the backing band do a few songs before the stars come out for each set. It's tracked to fit on audio CD's but will play seamlessly through the disc changes. I did my best with the setlist but can still use a lot of help if anyone has any better info.

CD 1 (67:08)
101. "announcer intro & applause" >
102. Kansas City
103. Before You Accuse Me
104. Mellow Down Easy
105. "Buddy Guy intro" > Hand Me Down My Walking Cane
106. Ain't That Lovin' You Baby
107. "unknown" >
108. I Just Want To Make Love To You
109. "unknown"

CD 2 (72:12)
201. "unknown"
202. Who's Making Love?
203. "unknown"

204. "talk & tune up"
205. Next Time You See Me
206. Miss You
207. Turning Point
208. "unknown"
209. Goin' Down

CD 3 (40:07)
301. Bit By Bit
302. I Smell Something
303. Got My Mojo Working >
304. "instrumental"
305. "unknown"
306. I Feel Good
307. Who Knows? (instrumental)
308. "announcer & applause"


Enjoy! Support the artists and buy the officially-released items